Hiroko NAKAJIMA und K.O. GÖTZ: Abstract Writing

30 November 2022 - 20 March 2023

The current temporary exhibition ABSTRACT WRITING of the SAMURAI MUSEUM BERLIN is curated by the Bermel von Luxburg Gallery.
Works by the Japanese artist Hiroko NAKAJIMA, who lives in Germany, and one of the most important artists of non-objective painting in Germany, K.O. GÖTZ, are juxtaposed. It is the encounter between Far Eastern calligraphy, developing into abstract art, and the "informal painting" of the post-war period in Germany.
Image

The curators Aleksandra von Luxburg and Mario Bermel selected early and rare works of K.O. Götz. K.O. Götz always sought exchange with important abstract artists like the Japanese Yuichi Inoue, who introduced a new visual style to Far Eastern calligraphy. Japanese calligraphy originated in China. In contrast to Western penmanship, it has always been closely linked to the visual arts and has been an inspiration and a key to understanding the world.

 

K.O. Götz is one of the most important representatives of German informalism. At the beginning of the 1950s, he developed his squeegee technique: in rapid working steps, he uses a brush to place dark paint on a light primer of paste and then partially removes it again with a squeegee, thus achieving tremendous dynamism. His works with the paint brush, with which he applied his colours to canvas spread out on the floor, are also well-known. Götz always executed his works as quickly as possible and with great physical effort, but nevertheless, they were invariably precisely conceived and structured.

His works are juxtaposed with works by Hiroko Nakajima. She develops her abstract art from calligraphy. Hiroko, born in Osaka, came to Germany with her family via India. She studied sculpture at the FHS Design & Kunst in Cologne with Karl Burgeff and Daniel Spoerri. She then proceeded to study Sho writing with the great calligraphers Shiryû Morita and Sôfu Okabe. Shiryû Morita was famous for his novel interpretation of the traditional art of calligraphy and is one of the most important Japanese artists of the post-war period. His influence on the avant-garde calligraphy movement of his time was immense.
Hiroko Nakajima's art is far more than simply the coordinated movement of hand and body; it is rather a philosophy of aesthetics. Hiroko Nakajima is not a calligrapher or a lettering artist, she is a painter of abstract works.
Image

Hiroko NAKAJIMA und K.O. GÖTZ: Abstract Writing

30 November 2022 - 20 März 2023

Die aktuelle Sonderausstellung ABSTRACT WRITING des SAMURAI MUSEUM BERLIN wird kuratiert von der Bermel von Luxburg Gallery.
Einander gegenübergestellt werden Werke der in Deutschland lebenden japanischen Künstlerin Hiroko NAKAJIMA und eines der bedeutendsten Künstler der gegenstandslosen Malerei in Deutschland, K.O. GÖTZ. Es ist die Begegnung zwischen der fernöstlichen Kalligrafie, die sich zur abstrakten Kunst entwickelt, und der „informellen Malerei“ der Nachkriegszeit in Deutschland.
Image

Die Kuratoren Aleksandra von Luxburg und Mario Bermel wählten frühe und seltene Werke von K.O. Götz aus. K.O. Götz suchte stets den Austausch mit wichtigen abstrakten Künstlern wie dem Japaner Yuichi Inoue, der der fernöstlichen Kalligraphie eine neue visuelle Form gab. Die japanische Kalligrafie hat ihren Ursprung in China. Im Gegensatz zur westlichen Schönschrift war sie schon immer eng mit den bildenden Künsten verbunden und eine Inspiration sowie ein Schlüssel zum Verständnis der Welt.

 

K.O. Götz ist einer der wichtigsten Vertreter des deutschen Informel. Anfang der 1950er Jahre entwickelt er seine Rakeltechnik: In schnellen Arbeitsgängen setzt er mit dem Pinsel dunkle Farbe auf einen hellen Kleistergrund und trägt sie anschließend mit einer Rakel teilweise wieder ab, was für eine ungeheure Dynamik sorgt. Bekannt sind auch seine Arbeiten mit der Farbbürste, mit der er seine Farben auf der am Boden ausgebreiteten Leinwand auftrug. Dabei führte Götz seine Werke stets möglichst schnell und mit großem körperlichem Einsatz aus. Sie waren jedoch immer genau konzipiert und strukturiert.

Seinen Werken gegenübergestellt werden Werke von Hiroko Nakajima. Sie entwickelt ihre abstrakte Kunst aus der Kalligraphie. Hiroko, geboren in Osaka, kam mit ihrer Familie über Indien nach Deutschland. Sie studierte Bildhauerei an der FHS Design & Kunst in Köln bei Karl Burgeff und Daniel Spoerri. Anschließend studierte sie die Sho-Schriftkunst bei den großen Schreibmeistern Shiryû Morita und Sôfu Okabe. Shiryû Morita war für seine Neuinterpretation der traditionellen Kunst der Kalligrafie berühmt und gehört zu den bedeutendsten japanischen Künstlern der Nachkriegszeit. Sein Einfluss auf die avantgardistische Kalligrafie-Bewegung seiner Zeit war groß.
Die Kunst Hiroko Nakajimas ist weit mehr als nur die koordinierte Bewegung von Hand und Körper, sie ist eine Philosophie der Ästhetik. Hiroko Nakajima ist keine Kalligraphin oder Schreibkünstlerin, sie ist Malerin abstrakter Bilder.
Image