About us

The Samurai Museum Berlin is the first museum in Europe dedicated exclusively to samurai culture and history. Located in Berlin's vibrant gallery district, it houses the largest collection of authentic samurai artefacts outside of Japan.

In the permanent exhibition, over a thousand objects, from suits of armour to woodblock prints, showcase the extraordinary artistry and wide range of styles of traditional Japanese craftsmanship. The Samurai Museum offers unique insights into the way of life, art, and traditions that shaped society in feudal Japan for more than a thousand years. In a multimedia journey, immersive interactive installations guide visitors through the keystones of samurai culture, from the gruesome code of the battlefield to the meticulously prescribed procedures of the tea ceremony.

Temporary exhibitions cross over to the present and explore the long-lasting influence of the samurai on contemporary culture, both in and outside Japan. The Samurai Museum Berlin is conceived as a space open to all, encouraging unexpected discoveries and cross-cultural encounters.

The Collection

Inspired by his passion for martial arts and Japanese culture, Peter Janssen acquired his first katana over thirty years ago and has been collecting samurai artefacts ever since. Today, his extensive collection comprises more than 4.000 objects. They date from the late Kofun to the early Meiji period (6th - 19th centuries) and offer a captivating insight into the evolution of Japanese culture and craftsmanship. The size and scope of the collection is unique. It includes not only weapons and armour, but also objects of samurai culture, such as textiles, paintings, woodblock prints, tea utensils and Buddhist sculptures. 

 

Highlights of the collection are an 18th-century palanquin, 17th-century armour of the Matsuidara clan and tea utensils from the period of Sen no Rikyū (1522–1591). 

 

In 2017 Peter Janssen opened the Samurai Art Museum in Villa Clay, with the desire to share his passion and fascination for these exceptional examples of traditional Japanese craftsmanship. Only a few years later, the continuous growth of the collection required a new location, which was found in Auguststraße in Berlin Mitte.  Peter Janssen envisioned the new museum as a journey of discovery. Therefore, he chose to employ the latest technological innovations in museal presentation and exhibit display in order to offer visitors an immersive experience into the world of samurai.  

Shop

Our museum shop showcases a wide variety of products inspired by the museum’s collection, as well as a curated selection of authentic Japanese articles. Exclusive collaborations and choice collector’s items will delight enthusiasts and laypersons alike.
Image

Research Centre

The Research Centre of the Samurai Museum Berlin, located in the former Samurai Art Museum in the Villa Clay, is dedicated to the study of samurai culture with a focus on the artefacts in the Peter Janssen Collection. 

 

It aims to expand the existing archive through comprehensive cataloguing and photographic documentation of the collection, as well as preserving its holdings through state-of-the-art conservation.

 

Research in the field is fostered by bringing together young academics and established scholars in collaboration with experts around the world.

Über uns

Das Samurai Museum Berlin ist das erste Museum in Europa, das sich ausschließlich der Kultur und Geschichte der Samurai widmet. Das Museum in Berlins pulsierendem Galeriebezirk beherbergt die größte Sammlung authentischer Samurai-Artefakte außerhalb Japans.  

In der Dauerausstellung zeigen über tausend Objekte, von Rüstungen bis zu Holzschnittdrucken, die außergewöhnliche Kunstfertigkeit und das breite Spektrum der traditionellen japanischen Handwerkskunst. Das Samurai Museum Berlin bietet einzigartige Einblicke in Lebensweise, Kunst und Traditionen, die die feudale Gesellschaft in Japan mehr als tausend Jahre lang geprägt haben. In einer multimedialen Reise führen interaktive Installationen Besucher*innen durch die Grundzüge der Samurai-Kultur, vom grausamen Kodex des Schlachtfelds bis zu den ritualisierten Abläufen der Teezeremonie.  

Wechselausstellungen schlagen eine Brücke zur Gegenwart und untersuchen den langfristigen Einfluss der Samurai auf die heutige Kultur, sowohl in als auch außerhalb Japans. Das Samurai Museum Berlin ist als ein für alle offener Raum konzipiert, der unerwartete Entdeckungen und interkulturelle Begegnungen fördert.

Die Sammlung

Inspiriert von seiner Leidenschaft für die Kampfkünste und die japanische Kultur erwarb Peter Janssen vor über dreißig Jahren sein erstes Katana und sammelt seither Samurai-Artefakte. Seine umfangreiche Sammlung umfasst heute mehr als 4000 Objekte. 

Sie stammen aus der späten Kofun- bis zur frühen Meiji-Periode (6.-19. Jahrhundert) und bieten faszinierende Einblicke in die Entwicklung der japanischen Kultur und Handwerkskunst. Die Sammlung ist einzigartig in ihrer Größe und Umfang. Sie besteht nicht nur aus Waffen und Rüstungen, sondern auch aus Gegenständen der Samurai-Kultur, wie Textilien, Malereien, Holzschnittdrucke, Teegeräte und buddhistische Skulpturen.  

Glanzstücke der Sammlung sind eine Sänfte aus dem 18. Jahrhundert, eine Rüstung des Matsuidara-Klans aus dem 17. Jahrhundert und Teegeräte aus der Zeit von Sen no Rikyū (1522–1591).  

Getrieben von dem Wunsch, seine Leidenschaft und Faszination für diese außergewöhnlichen Beispiele traditioneller japanischer Handwerkskunst zu teilen, eröffnete Peter Janssen 2017 das Samurai Art Museum in der Villa Clay. Nur wenige Jahre später erforderte das permanente Wachstum der Sammlung einen neuen Standort. Dieser wurde in der Auguststraße in Berlin Mitte gefunden. Das neue Museum soll sich als eine Entdeckungsreise ausfalten. Deshalb entschied Peter Janssen, die neuesten technologischen Entwicklungen im Bereich der Museumspräsentation und der Darstellung von Exponaten zu nutzen, um Besucher*innen das Eintauchen in die Welt der Samurai zu ermöglichen.  

Shop

Unser Museumsshop präsentiert zahlreiche Produkte, die von der Sammlung des Museums inspiriert sind, sowie eine sorgfältig zusammengestellte Auswahl authentischer japanischer Artikel. Exklusiven Kooperationen und ausgewählte Sammlerstücke werden Liebhaber sowie Laien begeistern.

Image

Research Centre

Das Research Centre des Samurai Museum Berlin in den Räumen des ehemaligen Samurai-Kunstmuseums in der Villa Clay widmet sich der Erforschung der Samurai-Kultur mit einem Schwerpunkt auf den Artefakten der Sammlung Peter Janssen.

 

Ziel ist es, das bestehende Archiv durch eine umfassende Katalogisierung und fotografische Dokumentation der Sammlung zu erweitern und die Bestände durch modernste Konservierungsmethoden zu erhalten.

 

Junge Akademiker*innen und etablierte Wissenschaftler*innen sollen dabei mit Expert*innen aus aller Welt zusammenarbeiten können, um so die Forschung auf diesem Gebiet zu fördern.